This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Saudi Arabia

Saudi Arabia is made up of 13 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Saudi Arabia. Information on all primary administrative regions in Saudi Arabia.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Saudi Arabia alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Saudi Arabia

There are 13 regions in Saudi Arabia in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Saudi Arabia
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Ar Riyad Minţaqat ar Riyāḑ1.5,588,987Riyadh Riyadh4,205,961
Makkah Makkah Province2.5,899,358Mecca Mecca1,323,624
Al Madinah al Munawwarah Al Madīnah al Munawwarah3.1,547,487Medina Medina1,300,000
Eastern Province Al Minţaqah ash Sharqīyah4.3,421,191Dammam Dammam768,602
Mintaqat Tabuk Minţaqat Tabūk5.708,860Tabuk Tabuk455,450
Al-Qassim Al-Qassim Province6.1,016,756Buraydah Buraydah391,336
Mintaqat Ha'il Minţaqat Ḩā’il7.597,144Ha'il Ha'il267,005
Najran Minţaqat Najrān8.429,332Najran Najrān258,573
Mintaqat `Asir Minţaqat ‘Asīr9.2,188,461Abha Abha210,886
Northern Borders Minţaqat al Ḩudūd ash Shamālīyah10.320,524'Ar'ar ‘Ar‘ar148,540
Al Jawf Al Jawf11.369,282Sakakah Sakakah128,332
Jizan Jizan Region12.1,212,393Jizan Jizan105,198
Mintaqat al Bahah Minţaqat al Bāḩah13.380,799Al Bahah Al Bāḩah88,419